I’m hungry for blood, and also candy.

Woot woot! I finally graduated last Friday! The proof can be seen below, in my ridiculous regalia.

farquaadLord Farquaad himself couldn’t ask for a more velvety hat. It was quite silly.

Underneath all this nonsense I DID finally get to wear the dress I’d been working on for so long! It’s Simplicity’s 2588, the version that is sleevless, uses a neckband, and has the flared skirt.

Y’all, it did NOT go altogether smoothly (as noted from my zipper misadventures.) I still think I’m going to go back and re-do the zipper, but I left it as my MIL finished it, so that it was at least wearable. I learned a bit about fitting with this project- namely, that I don’t know how to do it. I made a muslin and everything, and I still had to take in some bits at the sides and upper-bust. The neckband is also a little too large. If I were to make it again, I’d make a smaller size of neckband and  bust, and grade out to the waist (assuming I can figure out how to do that- I think one uses a french curve for that?) The pleats don’t make the perfect “V” where they’re supposed to meet in the front, but I don’t mind. I think it looks fine, and uh…unique!

I just re-took my measurements right this minute, and I’m a 34 Bust, 30.5 waist (ish- My waist is a little hard to find because I’m kind of straight-up-and-down) and about 38 hips. I think. If I measured them in the right place. I feel like I don’t have that classical hourglass figure that’s marked on the backs of all the pattern envelopes, so picking the right size is a little tricky for me. I’m sure it is for everyone though; I mean, how many of us really have the exact shape on the envelope?

MegansGraduation 190Here I am outside my school; it was in the 50s (F) so I didn’t hang out long. I’m hoping to get better, close-up photos after I re-do the zipper. The wind and drizzle-y weather did a number on my sponge-rolled hair, too. Grumble!

The Hubs picked out the fabric for this, and I’m SO happy with it. It’s a lawn or poplin (can’t remember) Lisette fabric from Joann’s. So lovely. Wrinkles like crazy, but it’s alright- it’s a little harder to see with all the swirly colors. I totes wore my leopard print heels. In retrospect, not a comfortable choice by a LONG shot, but I loved how they looked.

MegansGraduation 185I clearly need to work on my posing for photos- my right arm just hangs there as if I’d had a stroke. Nice. But I needed a wider view so you could see the pretty flowers!

Other than this dress, I haven’t done squat lately. My mojo is just GONE. I cut out a muslin Sorbetto a few days ago, but I haven’t sewn it up yet. The Hubs and I are still house-hunting, I’ve started packing (mostly stuff we don’t use) but the apartment is full of tote bins. I’m in kind of a grumpy place mentally and I just can’t get off my duff to even re-thread my machine. It’s very grumbly-making, because I’ve FINALLY got the time, but not the will.

How do you guys restore your crafty mojo?

Enhanced by Zemanta

25 thoughts on “I’m hungry for blood, and also candy.

  1. Honestly… I look at Modcloth, and when I see all the pretty things I can’t afford, it makes me want to go make something. Browsing at the nice mall also does that. Or buying a pretty new fabric or pattern!

  2. Congratulations on your graduation!!! And, wow, yes that is a LOT of velvet! I actually love velvet, but maybe not so much that colour. 🙂 Your dress is also lovely, nice job. I also wanted to let you know that I won a Pattern Pyramid and have posted it on my blog. There are some terrific patterns in it, so if you were interested, feel free to drop by and enter!

    • Yeah, the velvet is…velvety. 🙂 Thanks for the nice comments. I hesitated to enter the pattern pyramid at first, because Joy had two and I won the other one, but then I said, “Screw it! I want to win ALL THE THINGS.” So I have now entered. 🙂

  3. We are clothing twins because (1)I’m kinda straight up and down too and sometimes I do think my figure is the same shape as an envelope. Ha ha ho ho, I am too hilarious for words; and (2) I used exactly that fabric for a Cambie dress! Can I just say what awesome taste you have in fabric choice? Also, dress looks fab on you! And and (3) my partner and I are also house hunting and this leaves me with even less sewing time than normal and a whole lotta grumpiness as a result. I suggest making small things like head bands, wallets and bags. Making a simple boxy bag gives me an inordinate amount of pleasure. Good luck, hope the mojo comes back real soon!

    • Thanks! I saw your dress on one of the blogger meet-up dealies, but I never found a post about you making it. I thought it was lovely though! I’ve never tried a Cambie (or any other Sewaholic pattern, actually), but I’ve seen SO many beauties that I’m bound to get to it eventually. Thanks for the ideas about doing small stuff- maybe that’ll be the ticket!

      • The post is um part drafted 🙂 I’m as slow in my blogging as in my sewing!
        Highly recommend Sewaholic patterns; instructions are excellent!

  4. Ugh–I hear ya about the lost mojo! I can’t seem to get a thing done. It’s the fitting. I just can’t even right now. Can’t. Even. . .
    So, what I’ve decided is to use up all my scraps for Pete’s sake. I’m tired of them existing. I’m thinking makeup bags and the like.
    Don’t ever question the choice of leopard print heels. They are ALWAYS appropriate.
    (Also, congratulations!)

  5. Well, it may not have gone together smoothly, but it looks great on you!

    I think with a lack of sewing mojo, you just need to take a break. There is no point forcing yourself to do something you just really don’t want to do. You’ll get back to it when things have slowed down and you have some time to breath again 🙂

  6. Pingback: Crafternoon Nap

  7. Pingback: Hop to It! | Unique Schmuck

Leave a comment