I heard a rumor…That Mexican werewolves are coming up from Mexico and selling crack!

Hello all (three of you!) This is just a quickie to put into evidence that I am joining ANOTHER sew along. Woot! Tuppence Ha’Penny is doing a Beginner Pencil-Skirt Sew-along, and I’m going to get in on the action. I’ve got one yard of a black and white nubbly something (a remnant from Joann’s) that I think will be just the thing. I hope it doesn’t shred all to bits on me, but we’ll see! I’m going to zig-zag the edges straight away after cutting my pattern pieces, and probably  use bias tape to tuck them in nicely.  I’ll be using a vintage Simplicity re-release- 2154.

I’m also a big fan of the cardigan and the shirt with its little bow- I’m hoping to get a crack at those sometime as well! I even like the jacket, but I’m trying not to get ahead of myself as far as my abilities go.

As for the skirt, I’m planning on adding a lining, and possibly doing the facing of the belt in leftover cupcake fabric from my apron. The nubbly fabric looks to be itchy on legs and stomach areas, and sticky on tights. I’ll have to look up a tutorial on the proper way add a lining, as the pattern doesn’t come with one. I may shorten the hem a little as well. I’m not sure that hitting straight at the knees is the most flattering look for me. Looking forward to trying a wintry-themed skirt!

Wish me luck!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “I heard a rumor…That Mexican werewolves are coming up from Mexico and selling crack!

  1. I was reading the post on her blog about the little extra details you can put on a pencil skirt, I looove the button tab! I am thinking now.

    Hitting right at the knees is probably best if you’ll wear it with high heels, but who does that anymore?

Leave a Reply

