Don’t let Spock take me to the future!

Hey everyone! I picked this title because I’m writing this post…in the past. I think. I’ve always been sketchy on the rules of time-travel. As long as it’s not the Terminator rules, where you can only go back, and you get there naked, I think it’ll be ok.

So, no crafty projects to report, but these are some photos I took while I was on the interview trail. The Hubs and I went to Wyoming for one of my interviews, so when we had some spare time, we went to the Wyoming State Museum. It’s FREE and it’s got some really great stuff for a small space. I’m really into pioneer/frontier history and cowboy culture type stuff, so this place really hit my interest. There’s also some dinosaur stuff, which I LOVE and have loved since I was in first grade.

Anyhoodle, they had a great display of domestic items that would have been in the home, particularly in the early part of the 20th century, and I thought I’d share some of the photos I took.

112It was hard to get a good shot of this kitchen display; the glass made weird glares. You can see the colors really well and some of the objects, but not as well as I’d like!

114A whole display of crafty implements! Of course, back then, they were a necessity and not the hobby that they are now.

117Wool and a carding brush for preparing to make one’s own yarn.

118And a spinning wheel to…spin…it…into the yarn! A woman named Sam who runs a lovely blog, Buckingham Road, spins her own yarn. She’s had some great results, and of course now *I* want to try it. It’ll have to wait till I move, but still. Like I need another hobby!

119Check out this treadle machine! So neat. I wonder if it still works…

115121More sewing implements. I love the pincushion shaped like a shoe!

120I looooove this vintage pattern. Such an adorable dress.

Last up are some hair-styling implements. There were more than these in the display of  beauty objects, but these were the ones I liked best.

123The Beadle Pin Curl Maker- For fashion’s SMARTEST curls! I wonder if they work. The package says, “Sleep in Comfort,” and if they worked AND I could sleep, I’d be in heaven.

124And then there’s this curling iron. Does anyone else cringe when they see this, because they think of Jo burning Meg’s hair in “Little Women”? 🙂

Well, that’s it for now. I’ll be back in the States in not too long. Until then, have fun and stay crafty!

2 thoughts on “Don’t let Spock take me to the future!

Leave a Reply

