Back from Belize!

Helloooooo interwebs! I am back from my month-long rotation in Belize. I worked hard, traveled a bit, and most importantly, met some AMAZING people.

The whole group before our ATM cave adventure!

The whole group before our ATM cave adventure!

Warning: this is rather a photo-heavy post, with very little to do with crafting. I took my knitting down to Belize, but didn’t touch it all month. It’s too hot and humid down there for that shiz! I did however, do a little of this-

Belikin Stout

Belikin Stout

A smidgeon of that-

"Watermelon Bliss"- at Barefoot Bar in Placencia

“Watermelon Bliss”- at Barefoot Bar in Placencia

whilst also seeing a bit of these-

Tree-Climbing Nuggets

Tree-Climbing Nuggets

And a few of these-

Village Cuties

Village Cuties

I traveled a bit, to places like these (for work)-

On the beach in Barranco, a Garifuna village in the south of Toledo District, Belize

On the beach in Barranco, a Garifuna village in the south of Toledo District, Belize

Tried a little of this-

Trying, yet again, to read an EKG

Trying, yet again, to read an EKG

But mostly enjoyed a lot of this-

Chillin' in clinic

Chillin’ in clinic

With a touch of this-

KITTEH

KITTEH

And a great time doing stuff like this-

Outside the cave at Blue Creek

Outside the cave at Blue Creek

As for craft-related- Right before I went, I cut the legs off this jumpsuit thingy I’d gotten YEARS ago before I went to the Dominican Republic for my sister’s wedding. I haven’t worn it since, having come to the conclusion that jumpsuits aren’t flattering to anyone, ever. I therefore cut those janky legs off and sewed on a half-circle skirt of super-soft brown jersey. It didn’t go perfectly, because I’ve never sewn knits before, but it was good enough for a casual, beachy dress. I ALSO still have the legs, and can wear them on my arms. I can totally just swan around my apartment like Blanche Devereaux-

Blaaaaaanche!

Blaaaaaanche!

Anyhoodle, here’s the dress in question:

Skirt-onto-top

Skirt-onto-top

Big Waves!

Big Waves!

Well, I’ve got a LOT of blog-reading to do, now that I’m home (internet in Belize is pretty sketch), so it’ll probably be awhile till I get back to my pencil skirt (I’m both tired and uninspired!). I need a little rest and reboot of my crafty-craving. I’ve got some super exciting awards-posts to share, but that’d have to wait for a different day.

I loved Belize, but it’s good to be home! What’s your favorite place you’ve ever traveled?

 

 

One thought on “Back from Belize!

  1. Belize looks amazing! I’d love to go, especially to see the Mayan ruins etc! I love travelling, so it’s really hard to decide on a favourite place I’ve visited! Luxor was amazing, because I finally got to visit all the ancient Egyptian ruins, and Sri Lanka last year was awesome too. I definitely want to see some of Central and South America, because I’ve never been!

    Hope you manage to recharge your sewing inspiration batteries!

Leave a Reply

