There’s a frood who really knows where his towel is.

Been working pretty hard on my dress for graduation lately, but I left my camera at a friend’s after Match Day, so there are no photos. Suffice it to say it’s causing a bit of trouble because I want it to be GOOD, but I’ve been learning and trying and mostly not crying, so it’s going alright.

A few weeks ago, I went to a huge antique store called Antiques on Second with a couple of friends. It’s three floors of ginormogantuan awesomeness. Some things great, others…

DSC03931 DSC03930

TERRIFYING.WHAT THE HELL?!?

Ok, the Marilyn doll I sort-of get, except for the freaky blow-job face, but what the hell with the two-headed troll doll? Really? Also, there was this-

I want to live in here.

I want to live in here.

Strawberry Shortcake’s house! Woot! Apparently, you can use it for parts or find more parts on Ebay or something. I don’t really know or care.

DSC03941 DSC03934Preeeetty, pretty pyrex. My favorite of all the pyrexes (pyrexi?), however, is the Butterprint in teal-

BEAUTIFUL

BEAUTIFUL

I want ALL THE THINGS in this print. I just think it’s so pretty and lovely and wonderful and I do so love it.

In the consignment area I saw this amazing french fireplace thingy-

DSC03935No idea where/what I’d do with it in my apartment, but it’s beautiful, isn’t it? The green enamel and the texture-y details. Needs new glass. I hope someone gives it a good home.

Now, the best finds of the day:

DSC03937 This is a Kay an EE Sew Master. As near as I can tell from the internetting I’ve done, it is a German sewing toy from the 1940s, possibly the 50s.  I turned the little crank and the needle moved up and down, so it’s possible it may work. Adorable!

DSC03928I’m having a hard time finding anything on this lil beaut’, but I think the tag said that it works. It’s pretty! If I had the space and the money, I’d have bought both of them to start a little collection. Maybe someday!

The Unicorner

The Unicorner

This was just too silly and cute- The Unicorner. I want to go to there.

That’s it for now- hopefully, photos of the dress soon!

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 thoughts on “There’s a frood who really knows where his towel is.

      • Eleven or One Hundred and Eleven! UNICORNS! And “Unicorner!” The epitome of squee potential. But I think it is a fair judgement to keep that nasty troll away from the Unicorner. Haha.

  1. It took me way too long to get the ‘unicorner’ but it made me love this post even more. What a gold mine for the “odd&pirex” lover!!

  2. Yikes! I’m all for off-beat things and tend to like peculiar items, but that two headed troll is the stuff nightmares are made of. Seriously, it could have it’s own series of horror movies! 🙂

    Thankfully the rest of these items are seriously delightful. I’m smitten with the pink sewing machine in particular.

    ♥ Jessica

    *PS* Thank you very much for your wonderfully nice blog comment. Absolutely, us bespectacled lasses can (and should!) definitely wear hats with netting/veiling. If your frames are (or look like they are) vintage, all the better.

Leave a Reply

