When I die, I want you to cremate me and throw my ashes in Tom Selleck’s face

EEPS- I’ve actually got finished projects to show off, people! I’m trying to decide how I will spread them out, or if I’ll just go balls-out and do a couple in each post.

Decision made! My super-awesome table runner that I made using Lauren‘s (and her mom’s!) tutorial may just wait until actual holiday season comes around again. Or tomorrow, whatever I feel like, ha. Suffice it to say- it really made the kitchen more holiday-esque, which I really wanted for our first holidays in our new house. I’ll give you a hint about it though- I used fabric with GLITTER on it. And deer! It’s pretty great. Big ups to Lauren and her mom for a great holiday project!

Since I last posted, I’d been working on a quilt for the Nugget- I gave her the first one for her second birthday, I think. Well, on New Year’s Eve, my lil Nug turned into a Big Giant Girl of 6! Time flies, and I weep. *single tear* Originally, she wanted a pink and purple quilt with “fairies and princesses and barbie.” Good gravy, the mere thought almost made me vomit. Can’t my precious darling like dinosaurs, like Auntie MacStabby did in her youth (and still does- let’s be real here.) No? Ok, pink and purple it is. Sorry about the lack of feminism crushing figures, Nugget. (sorrynotsorry.)

I did consent to use her requested colors, since they would match her new “Sophia the First” bedsheets. LSH helped me pick up the fabric- his mom is muy crafty, so he’s actually way better at this than I am, since he’s had more practice while growing up. The choices are, in his words, completely “puke-tastic.” haha. Please forgive the shoddy photos- some of them are from my iPod touch, and others were taken in a flurry when my sis and Nugget came over on Saturday to collect the quilt.

fabric&book02

I worked on this baby whilst on my first vacation since starting residency. We went to my in-laws cabin in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. So lovely and quiet. I worked on cutting and sewing and watching pixar/dreamworks movies to my heart’s content (have you seen “Tangled?” GO WATCH TANGLED!), while LSH cut down trees and burned things and whatever else it is that boys like to do in the woods.

Like clear snow off of solar panels with a broom

Like clear snow off of solar panels with a broom

As seen above, I used the “Log Cabin Quilt in a Day” book by Eleanor Burns. I’ve read several of her books (because I read pattern books more often than use them…) but this is my first attempt to try a project from one. Ok, so I definitely didn’t finish this thing in a day, but I got the top almost entirely finished during my vacay (with appropriate breaks for naps and ATV rides.)

Then I needed to make a choice on layout. Luckily, as it was a twin quilt, there are really only two options (besides just randomly placing them)- Fields and Furrows vs Zig-Zag.

layout02

layout01
Once again, I used the lovely and talented LSH to help me- he liked Fields and Furrows better, because the Zig-Zag pattern seems unfinished and assymetrical on this size quilt. I sewed it up, added a border, and holy smokes- I was so happy with how it looked.
Once back home, I sandwiched that puppy together with the batting. How to finish, though? I considered both tying and machine quilting (and for half-a-second, hand quilting, but I wanted to give this to Nugget before she goes to college.) I ended up deciding to try machine-quilting, which meant a trip to my new (to me) local sewing machine store for a walking foot. I’ve got a Kenmore 6 from the 70s, and these folks really knew their stuff- I now have my very own walking foot! (BTW , I’ve now learned that my Kenmore is a low-shank machine, if any of you also have a similar machine: model 158.12411) I also got her serviced after I finished this project, and she is so happy and clean and smells nice.
walkingfoot
Ok, so using it didn’t work the best, and I don’t know if it’s because of the foot itself (probably not) or because of user-error (far more likely.) I had a hard time knowing how fast/slow to let the quilt feed through the feeder-dogs and needle-y area. I essentially did a stitch-in-the-ditch. I’m not totally pleased with the end result, because there are some wrinkly-wonkly areas, but it’s delightfully puke-tastic and perfect for this particular 6 year old nugget.

155

So. Charming. ;-)

So. Charming. 😉

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. LSH really helped a lot with the color selection, which obviously MAKES the quilt. Also, I can’t recommend Eleanor Burns books enough- she writes with her personality, and really simplifies and makes the project (even cutting!) fun.

In other news- I recently finished my second inpatient month of residency- I survived! Woot! Things are going much better now than they had been- thanks to all of you who offered support in my time of crazypants-ness. 😀 Here’s a shot of my daily affirmation that I put on my computer (with Totoro, of course.)
selfaffirmation

7 thoughts on “When I die, I want you to cremate me and throw my ashes in Tom Selleck’s face

  1. It seems like people are getting the quilting bug. . . I kind of really want to make a quilt and I kind of really don’t. I’m not a huge pink fan (well, not always), but I do like those purples. What a selfless aunt you are! I tend to make smallish things for my sister’s spawn. They’re lovely little spawn, but I have dresses to make.

    • Well, A) I have only one spawn to craft for and B) quilting results in less tears and frustration, because they only have to fit a bed, not a body. 😉 You could always just start with a lap quilt- then you’d have a nice, small-ish project to snuggle under whilst reading when it’s finished! I usually check out books from the library first before I buy.

  2. Good decision on the Fields & Furrows. I’m quite charmed by how it is sort of mirror imaged corner to corner. And by your niece. My partner is often my aesthetics advisor. If he says nothing or a noncommittal ‘Mmm’ when I say, ‘Does this look odd?’, then it’s very weird on the eyes!

    And I love affirming Totoro.

Leave a Reply

