Here’s a bunch of numbers. They may look random, but they’re my phone number.

The great thing about some projects is that they’re EASY and QUICK. This is one of those times. With a new home, there are lots of windows to treat- and this project was for some of our basement windows. Our house is a ranch-style, built into a hill, so the bottom half has a walk-out basement. The front half of the basement is finished (LSH’s office and our rec room/aquaponics center.) The back half has our washer/dryer, exercise bike, weight bench, and LSH’s workshop area.

We looked at Joann for fabric that had tools (wrenches, hammers, whatevs) on it, but no dice. We DID find some Star Wars themed fabric that had blueprints for the death star and X-Wings and shiz all over it. So manly.

130

See my new amazing cutting table? That was a xmas present from LSH to me, with the cutting board on top. So awesome. He’d brought these giant boxes upstairs all wrapped, and I could not, for the life of me, guess what was in them. Surprise! He’s a good dood.

132

135

They even turned out pretty well- not that simple curtains should be difficult. It was definitely easier on the back to have this nice high table. The grids on the cutting mat made keeping them the same size super easy as well. Huzzah!

In other news, the fantastic, wonderful, pink-headed Bek of PolkaDotsandSparkles sent me a couple of packages with hand-made goodies some time ago, and I can finally share their awesome-ocity now that I’ve got my cord again.

146

This is Minion, and he’s wearing the cute cat earrings she made and sent to me. He is an adorable lil scamp, and I’m hoping I can talk LSH into making a little shelf to put near my sewing tables so he can watch me work. The googly eyes just kill me. I wore the earrings out to dinner about a week ago, and I LOVED them. I’d wear them more often if I wasn’t on a surgery rotation right now- no jewelry allowed (not even watches!) Next month I bet they’ll get more action.

147

I just love that this blog and having a twitter account have made it possible to connect with kick-ass people all over the world. Lots of bloggers say crafters are the best community to be a part of, and it really seems to be the case! Everyone is always so friendly, so supportive, and so helpful (in addition to being kind and funny) that I am just so glad I have a small part of it.

Have you encountered anyone in the craft-o-sphere who’s really brightened your day?

3 thoughts on “Here’s a bunch of numbers. They may look random, but they’re my phone number.

  1. Love your kitty earrings! Too adorable! And yes, the sewing community is amazing – I have some wonderful sewing friends met online just on my doorstep, and we always have loads of sewing fun together!

Leave a Reply

